Week 95! June 27, 2016

7 weeks left?! What!?

I got the email today! Elder Jacob Kamalei Wimmer:
You are enrolled in the My Plan course.
The time is coming!!

Some good news. We’re pretty sure that we’ll have the Elder coming in from Hong Kong in 2 weeks or so. We need his help because there are too many people for just 2 Elders to cover.

This week went by quick. We’ve been eating with members a lot lately because Elder Peterson is leaving so we tried to make our dinner appointments opportunities to teach investigators and for all our meals beside the ones in restaurants we had investigators attending. They also were some of the best lessons we’ve had lately. It’s just so natural when we teach investigators at member’s homes.

We definitely saw some miracles this week. I’ll talk abut Sunday later.
We finally got back to meeting with *** and he calls us like everyday and sets up appointments with us. He’s back in the groove of things for sure. We just need to make sure he comes to church every week and doesn’t sleep in.

*** went out of town and he’s still not here so we’ll see if he comes back this week. We dropped his baptismal date.

We started teaching this cool investigator named ***. She’ll be leaving Houston right before I do so we have 1 transfer to teach her and baptize her! She’s been tough but we might get her (It really will be really hard)!

Sister *** didn’t come to church because her neighbor didn’t come either, they are her ride. She is progressing really well. She has already read all the way through Alma, she’s now in Helaman I think. She really is debating about getting baptized, she just doesn’t want to abandon Buddhism yet. We’ll keep working with her!!

We had a nice surprise on Sunday. We were just sitting in Gospel Principles class and then *** and *** showed up! They liked church I’m pretty sure. We invited them to come to church but they gave us the normal response of we’ll try and then they came! Progressing!!

Sister *** dropped us basically. Her husband told us to come over and visit them bus she said no, in English ha. She can actually understand some English!!

We had zone meeting and Elder Peterson gave his departing testimony!! We had a super long zone meeting, more than 3 hours I think. Normally only 1.5 hours. It was all about 100% accountability and how to teach the apostasy better. It was pretty uplifting

This week should be even more packed with eating and lessons. It’s gonna be fun for sure

Some things I found in my studies this week

Romans 8: 28
28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

Lyrics
1. Where can I turn for peace?
Where is my solace
When other sources cease to make me whole?
When with a wounded heart, anger, or malice,
I draw myself apart,
Searching my soul?
2. Where, when my aching grows,
Where, when I languish,
Where, in my need to know, where can I run?
Where is the quiet hand to calm my anguish?
Who, who can understand?
He, only One.
3. He answers privately,
Reaches my reaching
In my Gethsemane, Savior and Friend.
Gentle the peace he finds for my beseeching.
Constant he is and kind,
Love without end.

This hymn and the words really do have a lot of meaning if you think about it. He, only one…

That’s it for this week. Hope everyone has a great week out there and keeps holding to the rod!

Elder Wimmer
Wèi Zhǎnglǎo
魏长老

Leave a Reply

