Week 94! June 20, 2016

Another Week Over With…What??

Another Monday! Elder Peterson only has 2 weeks left!

This week had it’s up and downs but by the end I was the happiest boy on the earth. Like a fat kid eating ice cream!! So first off, we started teaching *** at *** and ***’s house because *** watches *** and his sister every Monday – Friday. We can teach *** everyday! Now we just need to get his Mom *** and find a time to meet with her.

We drove up next to the temple to meet with the *** family which is always a fun trip. We helped our Branch President move which was a lot of fun. We had to drive up to his house which is more than an hour up north of where we live. Now he lives a lot closer to the church! His new house is super nice! His old house was also really nice haha. It was super tiring and really hot outside but we finished the job. Luckily they got people to get their piano which is nice because it’s a big grand piano ha!

Fathers Day was great yesterday. Happy Fathers Day Pops!!!
We had an Asian feast after church ha. We had a lot of people at church. Unfortunately *** didn’t come to church and he canceled his appointments with us but we still have contact with him. We met this Girl from HuNan China (I think) and her name is ***. She’s super cool and she is a co worker of a member in the ward. She’s never been to church and she’s been in Atlanta, Georgia studying in college for a while. This week we’ll start teaching her and we’ll see what happens.

I sang “The Prayer” in Sacrament meeting and I though it sounded good. I don’t know Italian so I kinda winged what the Italian sounded like but I’ve heard the song before and we listened to it right before we performed. Lots of people were complimenting me. I guess I have to sing again before I go home. The Branch President’s wife is in charge of music so what she says goes ha.

After Church it gets better! We met with ***!! He finally answered the phone and told us that we could come over. He then drove us to visit our investigators and we talked with him for a while. He’s doing really well. Still likes us a lot. He really is just super busy at work. He showed us all the things that he had to build at his apartment complex. We need to get him to church but thankfully he’s still keeping the commandments, besides the Sabbath, and he’s not anti. SO happy now! He wants us to come visit with him today!!

That’s the area right now. We’re pushing along slowly but surely.

I was reading in the book of Alma and I came across chapter 38. Alma talking with his son Shiblom. Shiblom really is a great example that I’ve never noticed in the scriptures before. He is persecuted for righteousness’s sake and he never gives up. There’s obviously a reason why his father only has to talk with him for 1 chapter. How bout we all hold strong and have enough faith to be persecuted because of our faith.

A few verses from 1 King 3… well a lot. I really like this story
So first The Lord asks Solomon a question

5 ¶In Gibeon the Lord appeared to Solomon in a dream by night: and God said, Ask what I shall give thee.
9 Give therefore thy servant an understanding heart to judge thy people, that I may discern between good and bad: for who is able to judge this thy so great a people?
10 And the speech pleased the Lord, that Solomon had asked this thing.
11 And God said unto him, Because thou hast asked this thing, and hast not asked for thyself long life; neither hast asked riches for thyself, nor hast asked the life of thine enemies; but hast asked for thyself understanding to discern judgment;
12 Behold, I have done according to thy words: lo, I have given thee a wise and an understanding heart; so that there was none like thee before thee, neither after thee shall any arise like unto thee.
13 And I have also given thee that which thou hast not asked, both riches, and honour: so that there shall not be any among the kings like unto thee all thy days.
14 And if thou wilt walk in my ways, to keep my statutes and my commandments, as thy father David did walk, then I will lengthen thy days.

If we ask for the right things, God will surely bless us with the things that we ask for and many more things as well. We just need to remember to ask for what is important in life.

I invite everyone out there to pray as Solomon prayed and ask for the things in life that God would want us to have.

Love ya’ll out there
Talk to ya next week

Elder Wimmer
Wèi Zhǎnglǎo
魏长老

Leave a Reply

