Week 93! June 13, 2016

“A Book Of Mormon A Day Till I Fly Away!”

Elder Peterson said that awhile a go ha!

This week flew by! I swear it was just Monday!

Overall this week was great. We had a lot of fun too. We found a great new investigator named Sister ***. Her neighbor is a member and she’s super interested in coming to church and finding a religion. She also has an 11 year old son who doesn’t really like us but we’ll find him some friends ha. She needs to get work off on Sundays to come to church and she only gets one day off per week which will be hard but this will be a good trial for her. I was thinking this week how people go to work for 12 hours 6 days a week. Chinese people really are hard workers. We know a lot of people that have been doing this for years. Crazy!!

*** update!! He came to church and he committed to keep the law of tithing. He also has been reading the Book of Mormon everyday. He’s pretty cool. Now we just need him to come to church for 3 hours! I know he’ll do it. He also has a baptismal date for July 10. We told him he needs to come to church every week in order to get baptized. No more of this on and off coming.

*** is being a bum and not coming to church or let us come visit him. Pray that we can find out what’s wrong with him.

We taught *** and *** and during the lesson we totally got baby chomed. Their baby wanted to go walking outside and wouldn’t take no for an answer. She also needed her mom to take her and not her grandma. We talked to them a little outside and then invited them to church. They normally tell us they have other plans but their answer was a little bit different this time and *** (the husband) told us he’d try to come. His wife wasn’t necessarily that into coming to church because of their little kid who is one and a half, I think. We were at church and they didn’t come for 2 hours and we called them and they didn’t answer so I thought they wouldn’t come. *** as well. But in our last hour for Sacrament I was sitting there and I got a text that said, “Hey Elders we’re coming to church today.” I didn’t know who’s number it was. Thought it might be ***’s. The meeting started and we pray and sing. Someone asks me to get a hymn book for them. I know where one is in the back of the chapel. I walk over pick up the book and guess who walks in the door when I pick up the book. ***, ***, their daughter and the grandma. Miracles exist. They also stayed after church for an hour talking with members and listening to kids practice singing. It was the best!!

Zone Conference!
We had a great zone conference and we got blasted by Elder Fosters the visiting 70. At first it was all picky uppy and made you feel so good. He told us that sometimes it takes the first half or three quarters of the game to lace up your shoes but many games are won in the last half. Even when the game is 47-0. I felt like this meeting was so good, then he blasted us and told us that we’re Level 1 missionaries and we do everything by ourselves and don’t work with the members. Level 2 missionaries ask members to help them. Level 3 missionaries is opposite, members ask missionaries to help them do missionary work. We need to create a culture in the church where the missionaries do the teaching and the members do the finding. What a dream! Overall though, I loved the meeting and he taught us some good things that we could be doing better.

There are the highlight from this week. It was a fun week. Learned a lot from zone conference and listening to Elder Fosters. I liked these scriptures that I came across this week in the Bible.

Proverbs 13: 3-4
3 – He that keepeth his mouth keepeth his life: but he that openeth wide his lips shall have destruction.
4 – The soul of the sluggard desireth, and hath nothing: but the soul of the diligent shall be made fat.

Scripture of the week
Alma 29: 9
9 – I know that which the Lord hath commanded me, and I glory in it. I do not glory of myself, but I glory in that which the Lord hath commanded me; yea, and this is my glory, that perhaps I may be an instrument in the hands of God to bring some soul to repentance; and this is my joy.

I sure don’t glory of myself out here, all I want is to help people come unto Christ. TO TEACH REPENTANCE AND BAPTIZE CONVERTS!

Cool poem from someone ha. I forget who it is.

A mission is a strange experience
It is a trial and a test.
A mission throws at you the worst
Yet, teaches you the best.
I’ve never been so happy,
I’ve never been so depressed.
I’ve never felt so forsaken,
I’ve never felt so blessed.
I’ve never been so confused,
Things have never been so clear.
I’ve never felt my Heavenly Father so distant,
He’s never been so near.
I’ve never been so discouraged,
I’ve never been so full of hope.
I feel I could go on for forever,
I think I’ve come to the end of my rope.
I’ve never had it quite so easy,
I’ve never had it quite so tough.
Things have never been so smooth,
Things have never been so rough.
I’ve never traveled through more valleys,
I’ve never ascended more peaks.
I’ve never met so many nice people.
I’ve never met so many freaks!
I’ve never had so many ups,
I’ve never had so many downs.
I’ve never worn so many smiles,
I’ve never had so many frowns.
I’ve never been so lonely,
I’ve never had so many friends.
BOY, I hope this is over soon,
GOSH, I hope this never ends.

Love ya’ll out there,
Adios!

Elder Wimmer
Wèi Zhǎnglǎo
魏长老

Leave a Reply

